Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Trillium Prize Winners Named

The $20,000 Trillium Prize has been awarded to Pasha Malla for his debut collection, The Withdrawal Method (House of Anansi). “It’s awesome,” Malla told The National Post, “it’s just weird. I [feel] completely bewildered by it.”

Pasha wins in a very tough field that included Kevin Connolly (Revolver), Helen Humphreys (Coventry), Ibi Kaslik (The Angel Riots), Nino Ricci (The Origin of Species) and Charles Wilkins (In The Lane of Long Fingernails).

Never a shrinking violet, Malla was enthusiast when he spoke with The Post. “To me, $20,000 -- you win more money on The Price is Right than that. But to me it just seems like a fucking fortune.”

The Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium was awarded in four categories:
Trillium Book Award in English-language
Pasha Malla, The Withdrawal Method (House of Anansi Press)

Trillium Book Award in French-language
Marguerite Andersen, Le figuier sur le toit (Les Editions L'Interligne)

Trillium Book Award for Poetry
Jeramy Dodds, Crabwise to the Hounds (Coach House Books)

Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature
Paul Prud'Homme, Les Rebuts : Hockey 2 (Les Editions du Vermillon)



Post a Comment

<< Home