Tuesday, October 06, 2009

Giller Prize Shortlist Announced

In our excitement in reporting on the winner of the 2009 Man Booker Award earlier today, we neglected to report the Giller Awards shortlist, announced even earlier. Quill & Quire sets us straight:
The Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist was announced this morning, and it included a mix of “sure bets” and surprise nods. The biggest surprise, however, was the omission of Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood (McClelland & Stewart), which was widely considered the frontrunner going into the announcement.
The five shortlisted titles are:
  • Kim Echlin, The Disappeared (Penguin Canada)
  • Annabel Lyon, The Golden Mean (Random House Canada)
  • Linden MacIntyre, The Bishop’s Man (Random House Canada)
  • Colin McAdam, Fall (Penguin Canada)
  • Anne Michaels, The Winter Vault (McClelland & Stewart)
The Scotiabank Giller Prize is Canada’s richest literary award. The winner will be announced in Toronto at a nationally televised gala on November 10.



Post a Comment

<< Home