Tuesday, October 05, 2010

Giller Prize Shortlist Announced

The Scotiabank Giller Prize, Canada’s richest literary award, announced the finalists for their 2010 prize this morning.

The finalists were selected by Canadian broadcaster and journalist Michael Enright, American writer and professor Claire Messud and award-winning author, the UK’s Ali Smith.

The shortlist was chosen from 98 books submitted for consideration by 38 publishing houses from every region of the country.

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on November 9th at a black tie dinner and award ceremony at the Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto.

The 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize finalists are:

David Bergen, The Matter With Morris (Novel published by Phyllis Bruce Books/HarperCollins)
Alexander MacLeod, Light Lifting, (Short story collection published by Biblioasis)
Sarah Selecky, This Cake is for the Party, (Short story collection published by Thomas Allen Publishers
Johanna Skibsrud, The Sentimentalists, (Novel published by Gaspereau Press)
Kathleen Winter, Annabel, (Novel published by House of Anansi Press)



Post a Comment

<< Home