Thursday, November 11, 2010

2010 Galaxy Award Winners Announced

During a “star-studded awards ceremony,” held Wednesday night in London, the winners of the 2010 Galaxy National Book Awards were announced:

Sainsbury’s Popular Fiction Book of the Year: One Day, by David Nicholls (Hodder & Stoughton)

National Book Tokens New Writer of the Year: Edmund de Waal, The Hare with Amber Eyes (Chatto & Windus)

International Author of the Year: Jonathan Franzen, Freedom
(Fourth Estate)

Waterstone’s UK Author of the Year: Hilary Mantel, Wolf Hall
(Fourth Estate)

Tesco Biography of the Year: The Fry Chronicles, by Stephen Fry (Penguin Group)

Tesco Food & Drink Book of the Year: Plenty, by Yotam Ottolenghi (Random House)

More4 Non-Fiction Book of the Year: The Making of Modern Britain, by Andrew Marr (Pan Macmillan)

WH Smith Children’s Book of the Year: Zog, by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler (Scholastic)

Outstanding Achievement Award: Terry Pratchett

Outstanding Achievement Award: Martin Amis

Members of the public are now invited to vote online for the Galaxy Book of the Year, the nominees being the winners in each of the eight aforementioned categories. Register your vote here. A final result will be announced on December 13.



Post a Comment

<< Home