Thursday, May 15, 2008

New Last Week: Women in Hats by Judy Sheehan

Fans of Tony and Tina’s Wedding will want to make note of the publication of Women in Hats (Ballantine), a new book by the co-creator and former star of the long-running play.

Though the main character’s name is a little disturbing -- “Leigh Majors” fer cryin’ out loud -- Women in Hats is good, solid femlit.

Theater director Leigh is the daughter of an aging Hollywood actress. Leigh is proud of her accomplishments and more than a little chagrined when her famous mom turns up in New York and invades her daughter’s carefully created avant garde world. An uncomfortable mother-daughter dance ensues.

We need some great weather: Women in Hats would be a terrific beach book.



Post a Comment

<< Home