Monday, September 28, 2009

Davidson and Doctorow Take Home 2009 Sunburst Awards

Andrew Davidson and Cory Doctorow emerged victorious from two very tight fields in the 2009 Sunburst Awards.

A prized and juried award presented annually, the Sunburst Award is based on excellence of writing and is awarded annually to a Canadian writer who has published a book-length work of speculative fiction. Named for a novel by the late Phyllis Gotlieb, the Sunburst Award consists of a cash prize of $1000 as well as a hand-crafted medallion incorporating the Sunburst logo designed by Marcel Gagné.

The winner of the 2009 award in the adult category was Andrew Davidson for The Gargoyle (Random House Canada). In the young adult category, it was awarded to Cory Doctorow for Little Brother (Tor).

The other shortlisted works for the 2009 adult award were:

  • Night Child by Jes Battis
  • The Alchemist’s Code by Dave Duncan
  • Things Go Flying by Shari Lapeña
  • Half a Crown by Jo Walton
The other shortlisted works for the 2009 young adult award were:

  • The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong
  • Dingo by Charles de Lint
  • Wild Talent: A Novel of the Supernatural by Eileen Kernaghan
  • Night Runner by Max Turner



Post a Comment

<< Home